Honourary Lifetime Membership Award and Curl Saskatoon Awards

Granite Curling Club Honourary Lifetime Membership

A written nomination signed by at least (2) two members will be presented to the Board of Directors for a decision on the award. The Board of Directors will accept or deny applications and announce the decision at a time thought best by the Board of Directors.

Honourary Life Members shall include those members or past members who in the opinion of the Board of Directors have:

i. a minimum of 25 years of active membership at the Granite;

ii. performed a substantial form of service or contribution to the Granite Curling

Club; examples of such include acting as a member of the Granite Board of Directors, involvement in junior or adult learn to curl programs as a coach, instructor or helper, and representing the Granite Curling Club in the curling community by serving on the Curl Saskatoon, SCA or CCA committees, or the like.

Honourary Life Membership is the highest honour that can be bestowed upon a member at the Granite Curling Club, and as such, it is not to be given out freely. The Board of Directors will consider the application with an emphasis on substantial contributions to the Granite Curling Club.

Honourary Life Members shall be entitled to:

i. all the rights and privileges accorded to an Active Member in good standing, including the right to serve as a Director as set forth in Article IV of these Bylaws;

ii. exemption from payment of any curling dues for the life time of the Honourary

Life Member;

iii. a commemorative award plaque to be kept by the Honourary Life Member, as well as addition of the name of the Honourary Life Member on any associated commemoration displayed within the Granite Curling Club.

Granite Curling Club, Saskatoon Lifetime Members

John Blain    Archie M. Campbell    George S. Jarvis    R.B. McLeod

John McCaul    R.N. Anderson    Jack S. Miller    A. Andreen

W. Jack Wells    George Lawson    George Wood    Dr. P.D. Stewart

H. Steenson    W.E. Gray    G. McCaul    Fern Braithwaite

Grant E. Speck    Jack H. Miller    Ernie W. Duffus    Lewis W. Berry

William Garvie    Andrew R.D. McKee    L.E. Thompson    Eva Thomson

Esther Turner    Irene Pryor    W.A. Pryor    Velma Kinsman

Peg Ivison    Ernie Newbold    Jack Shand    Earl Pederson

Gloria Tomczak    Helen Crich    Keith Swan    Jerry Shoemaker


Ken Rowley Friend of the Game Award 

 Established in 1995 is named in honor of long time volunteer Ken Rowley. The award is in the form of a plaque presented annually by Curl Saskatoon to recognize individuals who have personally contributed significantly to the sport of curling in our community of Saskatoon.

 This person may have enhanced the sport in the areas of:

 The Game, Volunteer, Avid spectator, Sponsor, Management, Media

Annually, the four recipients will be nominated by their curling clubs. The awards will be presented each year at Curl Saskatoon’s interclub competition.

 Past recipients from the Granite include: Dwayne Yachiw, Tony Korte, Don Greer, Keith Beck, Grant Stephenson, Pat Buglass, Ed Reimer, Brian Graves, Keith Swan, Norm Lawrence, Paul Zultok, Debbie Patterson, Jack Miller, Terry Laughren, Rick Hopkinson, Sandra Mulroney, Cheryl Boechler, Jack Shand, Helen Critch and Jerry Shoemaker and Sylvia Seidle. 

 Curl Saskatoon Presents Honorary Life Member Award 

Curl Saskatoon’s Honorary Life Member Award is a newly developed award and will be presented at the annual Interclub Challenge alongside the Ken Rowley Friend of the Game. The Honorary Life Member will have no voting rights on the Board of Curl Saskatoon.

Each Honorary Life Member will have:

  • Worked on the Board of Directors at the club level
  • Served on the Board of Directors of Curl Saskatoon or on a higher governing body (SCA or CCA)
  • Has contributed to the curling community in numerous capacities including coaching, coordinating, or committee members
  • Has taken a leadership role in different curling events
  • Has promoted curling at the junior level
  • Is passionate about the sport of curling

Names will be put forward to Curl Saskatoon by the clubs. Curl Saskatoon will vote on these names and will decide which individual(s) will be the award winner(s). The number of recipients each year will be determined by Curl Saskatoon.